Every Detroit Lions head coach ever: Full list

Here is the full list of head coaches the Detroit Lions have had in their history.
Ezra Shaw/GettyImages

When Dan Campbell officially became the 30th head coach in Detroit Lions history in January of 2021, he had an introductory press conference that has now become legendary. It was the first sign he was a refreshing departure from his predecessor, who has literally been marked down as one of the worst coaching hires in NFL history.

Campbell, along with general manager Brad Holmes, has created a culture that has brought success in Detroit. That is also a refreshing departure from the franchise's history, which at this point doesn't deserve a full rehashing. But the Lions are no longer a laughing stock, and the are set up for sustained success.

Entering his fourth season, Campbell is already in the top-10 longest tenured head coaches in Lions' history, entering the franchise's 95th year counting four years as the Portsmouth Spartans.

Going back to 1930, with the aforementioned start as the Portsmouth Spartans, here's the full list of head coaches in Detroit Lions' franchise history.

Detroit Lions head coaches: Full list

Notes: Win-loss records cited are regular season records; * indicates interim or acting head coach

Hal Griffen (1930, Portsmouth Spartans; 5-6-3 record)
George "Potsy" Clark (1931-1936, 1940; 53-25-7 record, 1935 NFL Championship)
Earl "Dutch" Clark (1937-1938; 14-8 record)
Gus Henderson (1939; 6-5 record)
Bill Edwards (1941-1942; 4-9-1 record)
John Karcis (1942; 0-8 record)
Gus Dorais (1943-1947; 20-31-2 record)
Bo McMillin (1948-1950; 12-24 record)
Buddy Parker (1951-1956; 47-23-2 record; 1952 and 1953 NFL Championships)
George Wilson (1957-1964; 53-45-6 record; 1957 NFL Championship)
Harry Gilmer (1965-1966; 10-16-2 record)
Joe Schmidt (1967-1972; 43-34-7 record)
Don McCafferty (1973; 6-7-1 record)
Rick Forzano (1974-1976; 15-17 record)
Tommy Hudspeth (1976-1977; 11-13 record)
Monte Clark (1978-1984; 43-61-1 record)
Darryl Rogers (1985-1988; 18-40 record)
Wayne Fontes (1988-1996; 66-67 record; NFC Championship Game in 1991)
Bobby Ross (1997-2000; 27-30 record)
Gary Moeller (2000; 4-3 record)*
Marty Mornhinweg (2001-2002; 5-27 record
Steve Mariucci (2003-2005; 15-28 record)
Dick Jauron (2005; 1-4 record)*
Rod Marinelli (2006-2008; 10-38 record)
Jim Schwartz (2009-2013; 29-51 record)
Jim Caldwell (2014-2017; 36-28 record)
Matt Patricia (2018-2020; 13-28-1 record)
Darrell Bevell (2020; 1-4 record)*
Robert Prince (2020; 0-1 record)*
Dan Campbell (2021-present; 24-26-1 record, NFC Championship Game in 2023


Next. 3 players the Detroit Lions will not miss at all in 2024. 3 players the Detroit Lions will not miss at all in 2024. dark