Lions linebacker Jalen Reeves-Maybin voted to NFLPA All-Pro team

The NFLPA voted for its 2023 All-Pro team, and linebacker Jalen Reeves-Maybin was the only Detroit Lion to make it.
Kevin Sabitus/GettyImages

On Wednesday, the NFL Players Association (NFLPA) released the results of the voting for their version of an All-Pro team for this season. One Detroit Lions made it-linebacker Jalen Reeves-Maybin, in one of two "core teamer" (special teamer) spots.

It's important to note the NFLPA's All-Pro team is different than the AP All-Pro team, and of course the Pro Bowl rosters that were announced last week featuring five elected Lions along with seven selected as alternates.

This is the second year the Players Association has done voting for their own All-Pro team, and the rosters are way smaller with only a First Team selected. Lions center Frank Ragnow and right tackle Penei Sewell didn't make the cut at their positions. Neither did edge rusher Aidan Hutchinson, or wide receiver Amon-Ra St. Brown.

The NFLPA All-Pro list process has some unique wrinkles. Only active players can vote (as should be obvious), and they can't vote for themselves or any of their teammates. Players could also only vote for positions they play, and the positions they line up against. The clear goal is for a more objective, informed and unbiased vote.

Jalen Reeves-Maybin named to NFLPA All-Pro team for 2023 season

Reeves-Maybin finished the regular season tied for the league lead with 13 special teams tackles. He also converted two successful fake punts, one as a runner (Week 1 against the Kansas City Chiefs) and one as a passer (Week 17 against the Dallas Cowboys). He was one of the aforementioned five Lions who were selected for the initial NFC Pro Bowl roster.

Here's a look at the 2023 NFLPA All-Pro team.

QB: Lamar Jackson
RB: Christian McCaffrey
FB: Kyle Juszczyk
WR CeeDee Lamb, Tyreek Hill
TE: Travis Kelce
LT: Trent Williams
LG (tie): Joel Bitonio, Tyler Smith
C: Jason Kelce
RG: Zack Martin
RT: Lane Johnson

EDGE: Myles Garrett, Maxx Crosby
NT: Dexter Lawrence
DL: Chris Jones, Aaron Donald
LB: Roquan Smith, Fred Warner
CB: DaRon Bland, Pat Surtain II
FS: Jessie Bates III
SS: Kyle Hamilton

KR: Keisean Nixon
PR: Derius Davis
ST: Jalen Reeves-Maybin, Brenden Schooler
K: Brandon Aubrey
P: AJ Cole
LS: Ross Matiscik


Top 5 newcomers for the Detroit Lions in 2023. Top 5 newcomers for the Detroit Lions in 2023. dark. Next