A look at the Detroit Lions roster the last time they won a division title

The Detroit Lions are set to end the drought this year, but let's look at their roster the last time they won a division title.
/ Focus On Sport/GettyImages
3 of 3

1993 Detroit Lions player roster-Defense (3-4 base scheme)

Defensive Line: Robert Porcher (DE), Dan Owens (DE), Kelvin Pritchett (DE), Marc Spindler (NT/DE), Lawrence Pete (NT), Mack Travis (NT)
Linebackers: Chris Spielman (ILB), Pat Swilling (OLB), George Jamison (OLB), Tracy Scroggins (OLB), Tracy Hayworth (OLB), Dennis Gibson (ILB), Antonio London (OLB), Victor Jones (ILB), Toby Caston (ILB), Mike Cofer (OLB, PUP list)
Defensive Backs: Bennie Blades (FS), Ray Crockett (CB), Kevin Scott (CB), Tim McKyer (CB), Ryan McNeil (CB), Willie Clay (FS), William White (SS), Harry Colon (S), Melvin Jenkins (CB), Greg Jeffries (CB)

Spielman had one of his typical seasons in 1993, easily leading the team with 148 tackles. Porcher led the team in sacks with 8.5, followed by Scroggins (8) and the underachiever relative to expectations, Swilling (6.5). Swilling did have a team-high three interceptions.

The Lions finished sixth in total defense in 1993, equally stout against the run (10th; 103.1 yards allowed per game) and the pass (ninth; 188.8 yards allowed per game).

Special Teams

Placekicker: Jason Hanson
Punter: Jim Arnold
Long Snapper: Mark Rodenhauser

1993 was Hanson's second season as the Lions' kicker, a job he would hold through the 2012 season. His 327 games in a Lions' uniform is a franchise-high, and he of course is also the franchise's leading scorer (2,150 points).

1993 was the last of Arnold's eight seasons as the Lions' punter, and he averaged 44.5 yards per punt (tied for third in the league).


Next. Ranking the Top 5 Detroit Lions head coaches of all-time. Ranking the Top 5 Detroit Lions head coaches of all-time. dark