Parity in the NFL? 2015 NFL Playoff Predictions: AFC

4 of 5

Credit: Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

AFC West Predictions: Kansas City Chiefs – Division Champions

No, that’s not a typo. In a division that houses the greatest regular season quarterback to ever play the game, I have another team taking the title in 2015. Since Peyton Manning’s arrival in Denver in 2012 the Broncos have won the division title every year.

Similar to years past, the Broncos will have a team loaded with talent when the 2015 season officially gets underway. They also have a familiar face as a new head coach, Gary Kubiak.

So why wont Denver take the AFC West crown once again?

Because they have a new fierce rival — one who is unbeatable and was mentioned before.

Father Time.

Credit: Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

Manning is now 39-years-old and the wear and tear of nearly two decades of football has caught up to him. Last season, Manning battled a quadriceps injury that hindered him greatly as the season progressed into the playoffs.

Manning eventually lost to his former team, the Indianapolis Colts, but eventually decided to return in 2015 for his 18th NFL season.

In my opinion, Manning may have stuck around a year too long. I expect health and durability to be an issue once again.

So who does that leave?

The San Diego Chargers, Oakland Raiders and Kansas City Chief could end up duking out for a trip to the playoffs in 2015. The Raiders are improving, but they’re not quite there just yet. The Chargers and Chiefs are there, and are hungry as well.

I give the edge to the Andy Reid led, well-rounded Kansas City Chiefs. But not by much.

AFC West Predictions:

  1. Kansas City Cheifs
  2. Denver Broncos – Wildcard*
  3. San Diego Chargers
  4. Oakland Raides

Next: AFC East