Pro Bowl Snubs Can't Blame Calvin Johnson and Ndamukong Suh

Some say that players are named to their first Pro Bowl a year too late and their last Pro Bowl a year after they really deserve. That invariably leads to a list of players that should be Pro Bowlers in any given year that aren’t. Lists of Pro Bowl snubs hit the internet about as soon as the official Pro Bowl rosters are announced.

Given that it has been a decade since the Lions had any sort of national respect it might be easy for some to discount the accomplishments of Calvin Johnson and Ndamukong Suh, especially since Suh is just a rookie. Doug Farrar of Yahoo’s NFL blog, The Shutdown Corner, reviewed the NFC starters and gave their take on who should have received the honor.

Roddy White and Calvin Johnson will get the start at wide receiver for the NFC. The Shutdown Corner says one is deserving while the other isn’t. Don’t worry Lions fans, CJ is the one that rightfully earned the start. Farrar suggests DeSean Jackson should be starting opposite Megatron instead. He had this to say:

White is the NFL’s most targeted receiver, but Johnson should be first on this list because of what he’s done with a very iffy quarterback situation. And as much as I like what White brings to the Falcons, I have to put Jackson up a peg as perhaps the most dangerous receiver in the game today.

The defensive tackle situation is just like the situation at wide receiver. Doug Farrar says only one of the voted starters, Ndamukong Suh and Jay Ratliff, really should be getting the start. Once again it is our hometown guy that is the deserving party. Green Bay’s B.J. Raji is the suggested snub in this case. The quote:

Ratliff is still great and Smith may be the most underrated hybrid lineman in the game, but Raji is the nose tackle in the NFC’s best 3-4 defense, and should be awarded accordingly based on the importance of his position. St. Louis’ Fred Robbins(notes) deserves half a nod, for this or Comeback Player of the Year. Suh will be the best defensive player in the league at any position in the next two years.

Check out the full Shutdown Corner article by clicking the thumbnail below:

BallHyped Sports Blogs of the Year
Vote for the BallHyped Blog of the Year.

Voting takes place through the end of the year. Results will be announced on January 1, 2011!


Like what you see? Give SideLion Report a “like” on facebook, become a follower on twitter, or grab our RSS feed.

Tags: B.J. Raji Calvin Johnson DeSean Jackson Detroit Lions Jay Ratliff Ndamukong Suh Pro Bowl Roddy White Snub

comments powered by Disqus